• Luke Gibson

    Luke Gibson

    副教授

    Luke Gibson是一名生物保护学家,来自美国加利福尼亚,新加坡国立大学博士,现居中国。中组部青年千人计划入选者,2017年受聘于南方科技大学环境科学与工程学院成为副教授,也担任授课老师,设有课程:《地球生态学》和《生态保护学》。从2005年起,他开始在集中在有着最高水平的特有物种分布和最多的人口的亚洲工作,同时这里也是他的研究范围。他的研究有森林破碎化,绿色能源发展和野生动物贸易,检验在这些条件因素的影响下,生物多样性的蓬勃发展与否。

  • Chi-Yeung Jimmy Choi

    蔡志扬(Jimmy)

    研究助理教授

    蔡志扬长期从事动物生态学、保护生物学、湿地生态学和环境管理等方面的科研工作,目前主要的研究方向为候鸟生态学,利用最新的野生动物追踪和遥感技术,通过调查食性、栖息地利用、移动模式、种群动态、迁徙节律和对策,集中研究候鸟在各个沿海滩涂湿地之内、以及之间,的觅食和移动生态学。这些研究结果为改善湿地状况和候鸟保护提供了重要的科学依据和建议。

  • Adam Sharp

    Adam Sharp

    博士后

    Adam Sharp一名生态学家,感兴趣于对影响生物多样性的景观尺度的过程。他一直在伦敦帝国理工学院学习,直到博士毕业。在攻读博士期间,他与自然历史博物馆合作,研究基于在马来西亚婆罗洲沙巴上改变森林生态系统项目的稳定性。Adam的多数研究是聚焦在beta生物多样性和利用地球上最多元化的生物——鞘翅目甲虫上。先前的研究则是关于在把热带森林转化为油棕榈种植场的过程中,昆虫群落空间分布是如何受到影响。Adam现在在中国南方热带,具有分裂喀斯特地貌的广西省工作,旨在揭示森林异质性,海拔和连通性如何相互作用以塑造该地区的生物多样性。

  • Yanju Ma

    马艳菊

    博士后

    马艳菊是一名研究环境污染物与鸟类关系的生态毒理学家。她在加拿大的西安大略大学获得博士学位。在博士研读期间,借助先进设备和方法(风洞),她的研究发现全球污染物汞对小型鸣禽的迁徙和成活均有负面效应。艳菊将继续关注环境毒物对最缺乏了解并最有保护压力的东亚-澳大利亚迁徙路线上水鸟的影响,旨在通过更好地理解污染物暴露水平以及对它们的健康和种群下降的影响来保护迁徙水鸟。

  • 2CE2A3F9-277F-475D-B8A7-2C04825ADF3C_1_2

    Rudi Swart

    博士后

    Rudi 是来自南非的一位保护生态学家,研究兴趣为林木和昆虫之间的相互作用。他在斯泰伦博斯大学获得博士学位,在那里他研究了Afromontane森林斑块中与森林冠层相关的昆虫多样性模式。使用昆虫作为受干扰程度的指示物,他调查了南非最大的原生林中道路和其他土地利用变化带来的边缘效应。他现在的目标是研究建造水电大坝导致的森林破碎化对于昆虫在陆地边缘及其内部,以及岛屿之间的森林冠层和下层的授粉活动的影响,以增进我们对于大坝影响的认知。

  • Yating_edited.jpg

    宋雅婷

    博士生

    宋雅婷,南方科技大学与伯明翰大学联合培养项目博士生,合作导师为Tom Matthews博士。研究兴趣是城市化进程导致的生境破碎化对生物多样性的影响,目前正在研究深圳近40年来的城市扩张对豹猫物种分布的影响。同时,还在深圳市红树林基金会担任志愿者,与公众分享海滨红树林以及候鸟的相关知识。

  • Jonathan Moore

    Jonathan Moore

    博士生

    Jonathan 是来自英国的生物保护学家,诺丁汉大学研究硕士,研究课题是:当地土著的栽培技术如何影响在马来西亚半岛上的哺乳动物。从那以后,Jonathan就开始了广布于东南亚森林栖息地的调查:从最原始的森林到高度退化的人类主导景观。他的研究包括和牛津WildCRU合作的云豹密度调查,和TEAM Network在帕索森林保护区进行长期的红外相机监测项目。现与Matthew Luskin博士进行的是东南亚热带森林食物网研究。

  • Alex Thomas

    Alex Thomas

    ​博士生

    Alex是来自德国的鸟类学者,致力于保护东亚 - 澳大利亚迁徙路线(EAAF)的候鸟。基于Amur Bird Project,他在过去的几年中研究了分布于俄罗斯东部和中部的数个雀形目物种,特别是极危物种黄胸鹀(Emberiza aureola)的栖息地利用状况和迁徙模式。博士期间,Alex利用了最先进的技术对迁徙鸟类进行GPS追踪监测,研究了来自中国和澳大利亚的雀形目和似雀形目的越冬候鸟在马来群岛面临的如由油棕种植园扩张导致栖息地丧失等各种生存威胁。研究这些威胁有助于评估物种保护状况,并有助于保护其迁徙路线上的重要栖息地。

  • Mu-Ming Lin

    林穆明

    ​博士生

    林穆明来自台湾,是南方科技大学与昆士兰大学联合培养项目的博士生,合作导师为Richard Fuller博士。她是台湾大学的学士与硕士,过去研究森林环境中游客、观鸟者的行为对鸟类行为、繁殖成果的影响;毕业后,在台湾大学担任研究助理期间,参与了台湾海峡离岸风机对迁徙鸟类影响的研究,开始对迁徙鸟类产生兴趣。目前以黑脸琵鹭为研究对象,探讨全球气候变迁与土地利用变迁对迁徙鸟类的影响。在研究之外,林穆明也是一位活跃的观鸟爱好者,并于多项台湾的公民科学计划中担任志愿者,协助进行鸟类调查、环志等工作。

  • 552F7FD2-0540-49DE-B3B9-55BCC4332438_1_2

    Bastien Dehaudt

    博士生

    Bastien出生于法国,并于2010年移居美国加利福尼亚。在加州大学完成本科课程,现被录取为昆士兰和南科大的联合培养博士,由Dr. Matthew Luskin共同指导。其博士研究课题为小型哺乳动物的生态学和种群生物学,尤其是与东南亚森林特有的大量结果现象相关的哺乳动物。希望能发现并为重要的生态问题提供启示,从而有利于这些濒危栖息地的保护工作。

  • F9CCB5D4-8919-4F63-96F6-E8EBC4D7A571_1_2

    吕晨雪

    ​硕士生

    吕晨雪来自山西,在南方科技大学获得了学士学位。目前研究兴趣是外来入侵物种对于中国沿海湿地上分布的候鸟的影响,包括监测食性,栖息地利用以及种群大小的变化。她的研究发现可以为入侵物种的管理和沿海湿地的恢复提供启示。

  • 78519527-DAFE-43D9-A573-6AE5A85D1A44_1_2

    曾海翔

    硕士生

    海翔来自广西玉林,已获得SUSTech的学士学位,作为研究生,他正在研究整个东南亚不断变化的栖息地条件对鸟类迁徙的影响,尤其是沿海湿地和迅速扩张的池塘。他将着重于研究亚洲的半蹼鹬,并希望能够为它的保护工作贡献一份力量。

  • 60B16EC4-40F0-4C9C-9322-71A37397F29B_1_2

    邱旺旺

    硕士生

    ​旺旺2020年进入实验室。

  • Lilian Lin

    林立莲

    科研助理

    立莲来自世界客都梅州,商务英语本科毕业,加入实验室担任南科大科研助理一职。

校友

  • Filipa Palmeirim

    博士后2018-19年

    欧盟玛丽居里奖学金获得者,现跟随东英吉利大学Carlos Peres教授进行研究

  • Yiming Hu

    博士后2018-20年

    目前就职于广东省科学院,广东省生物资源应用研究所

合作者

  • Matthew-Luskin.jpg

    Matthew Luskin

    昆士兰大学

  • fullsizeoutput_37bf.jpeg

    Brett Scheffers

    佛罗里达大学

  • Ding-Li-Yong_edited.jpg

    杨鼎立

    国际鸟盟

  • David-Wilcove_edited.jpg

    David Wilcove

    普林斯顿大学

  • Michelle-Lute_edited.jpg

    Michelle Lute

    德州州立大学

  • Pavel Ktitorov

    Institute of Biological Problems of the North, Russian Academy of Sciences

  • Alex-Hofford.png

    Alex Hofford

    香港野生救援

© 2020 南方科技大学生物多样性实验室

• Luke Gibson

    PI: Luke Gibson

    Associate Professor

    Luke is a conservation biologist from California now living in China. His research is centered in Asia, where he has been working since 2005 and which hosts the highest levels of endemism and the largest human populations. He studies fragmentation, green energy development, and wildlife trade, identifying the scenarios under which biodiversity suffers - or, in some cases, thrives - from such enterprises. He received his PhD from the National University of Singapore. He is a Young Thousand Talents Program scholar, and joined SUSTech’s School of Environmental Science and Engineering in 2017. He teaches Ecology on our Planet and Conservation in the Anthropocene to the next generation of Chinese scientists, business leaders, and policymakers, who will play a disproportionately large role in the future of our planet.

  • Chi-Yeung Jimmy Choi

    Chi-Yeung Choi

    Research Assistant Professor

    Chi-Yeung "Jimmy" Choi is an applied ecologist with expertise in animal ecology, conservation biology, wetland ecology and environmental management. He studies the relationship between animals and their environment. Current study systems include the ecology of migratory birds, with a focus on their foraging and movement ecology within and between coastal intertidal wetlands. This has led to investigations of diet, habitat use, local movement, population dynamics, migration phenology and strategies, often using the latest technology in wildlife tracking and remote sensing. His work provides the important scientific basis for conservation actions and recommendations to improve the conservation of migratory birds and their wetlands.

  • Yanju Ma

    Yanju Ma

    Postdoctoral Researcher

    Yanju is an eco-toxicologist specialized in environmental contaminants and migratory birds. She received her PhD from the University of Western Ontario, Canada, where she studied the effects of the global pollutant, mercury (Hg) on small migratory passerines. Using advanced methodologies (e.g. wind tunnel), Yanju demonstrated how environmental Hg negatively affects songbird migration and survival. Now, Yanju continues investigating environmental toxins in migratory shorebirds along the East Asian-Australasian Flyway, one of the least understood flyways with the greatest conservation concern. She aims to improve shorebird conservation through a better understanding of the exposures of environmental pollutants and their impacts on shorebird population declines.

  • 2CE2A3F9-277F-475D-B8A7-2C04825ADF3C_1_2

    Rudi Swart

    Postdoctoral Researcher

    Rudi is a conservation ecologist from South Africa interested in the understudied interactions between forest trees and insects. He received his PhD from Stellenbosch University, where he examined insect diversity patterns associated with the forest canopy in Afromontane forest patches. Using insects as indicators of disturbance, he has previously investigated edge effects from roads and other land-use changes in the largest indigenous forest in South Africa. He now aims to further our understanding on how the creation of hydropower dams as a cause of forest fragmentation impacts on insect pollinator movements between forest islands, mainland edges and interiors, both in the understory and canopy, hoping to link this to tree recruitment.

  • Yating_edited.jpg

    Yating Song

    PhD Student

    Yating is in the SUSTech-Birmingham joint PhD program, co-supervised by Dr. Tom Matthews. She is interested in urbanization and fragmentation and associated impacts on biodiversity, particularly among coastal mangroves and migrant birds. Yating has also worked with the Mangrove Wetlands Conservation Foundation (MCF), where she shares her knowledge of seashore wetlands with the public.

  • Jonathan Moore

    Jonathan Moore

    PhD Student

    Jonathan is a conservation biologist from the UK. He is in the SUSTech-University of East Anglia joint PhD program, with Carlos Peres as co-supervisor. He completed his MRes at the University of Nottingham, studying indigenous communities and their relationship with mammals in Peninsular Malaysia. Previously, he has led wildlife monitoring surveys focused on small and large mammals across a wide range of forest habitats throughout Southeast Asia - from pristine primary forests to highly degraded human-dominated landscapes. His research has included clouded leopard surveys with WildCRU (Oxford University), camera trap surveys with the TEAM Network, and studies of tropical forest food webs with Dr. Matthew Luskin.

  • Alex Thomas

    Alex Thomas

    PhD Student

    Alex is an ornithologist from Germany who works towards the conservation of migratory bird species along the East Asian-Australasian Flyway (EAAF). For the past years, he has studied habitat use and migration patterns of several passerines in Eastern and Central Russia as part of the Amur Bird Project, with a special emphasis on the critically endangered Yellow-breasted Bunting (Emberiza aureola). His PhD focuses on the threats overwintering passerine and near-passerine birds from China and Australia face in the Malay Archipelago, such as potential habitat loss through conversion to oil palm plantations. The groundwork for this project comprises GPS tracking of birds during their yearly journey with state-of-the-art technology. Assessing the endangerments of those birds helps evaluating their conservation status and the protection of important habitats along their migration routes.

  • Mu-Ming Lin

    Mu-Ming Lin

    PhD Student

    Mu-Ming Lin is completing the University of Queensland-SUSTech Collaborative PhD, co-supervised by Professor Richard Fuller. A native to Taiwan, she received her BS and MS at National Taiwan University, where she studied the influence of tourists/birdwatchers' activities on the behavior and breeding performance of forest birds. She has also examined offshore wind farm impacts on migratory birds along the Taiwan Strait. Mu-Ming is now investigating how climate change and land-use change affect the Black-faced Spoonbill, an endangered species. In her spare time, Mu-Ming is a keen birdwatcher, and has participated in many citizen science projects.

  • 552F7FD2-0540-49DE-B3B9-55BCC4332438_1_2

    Bastien Dehaudt

    PhD Student

    Bastien hails from France, but in 2020 moved to California, where he completed his undergraduate at UCLA. He is now enrolled in the University of Queensland-SUSTech Collaborative PhD, co-supervised by Dr. Matthew Luskin. For his PhD, he is studying the ecology and population biology of small mammals, particularly in relation to the mast fruiting events which characterize the forests of Southeast Asia. He hopes his findings will shed light on important ecological questions, and also benefit conservation efforts in these imperiled habitats.

  • F9CCB5D4-8919-4F63-96F6-E8EBC4D7A571_1_2

    Chenxue Lyu

    Master's Student

    Chenxue comes from Shanxi, and received her Bachelor's degree from SUSTech. She is now interested in the impact of invasive species on migratory birds distributed along the coastal wetlands of China, particularly examining changes in diet, habitat utilization, and population size. Her research findings can shed light on invasive species management and restoration of coastal wetlands.

  • 78519527-DAFE-43D9-A573-6AE5A85D1A44_1_2

    Haixiang Zeng

    Master's Student

    Haixiang comes from Yulin, Guangxi, and received his Bachelor's degree from SUSTech. For his Master's, he is examining the changing habitat conditions across the EAAF, particularly among coastal wetlands and the rapidly expanding fish ponds, and their impacts on migrating bird species. In the future, he will focus his research on the Asian Dowitcher, hoping to contribute to its conservation. 

  • 60B16EC4-40F0-4C9C-9322-71A37397F29B_1_2

    Wangwang Qiu

    Master's Student

    Wangwang needs to prepare her bio.

  • Lilian Lin

    Lilian Lin

    Lab Manager

    Lilian hails from Meizhou, the Hakka capital of the world in eastern Guangdong. She received her undergraduate diploma in Business English. As Lab Manager, she ensures the smooth operation of SUSTech’s Biodiversity Lab.

Alumni

  • filipa-original_edited.jpg

    Filipa Palmeirim

    Postdoctoral Researcher 2018-19

  • Yiming Hu

    Postdoctoral Researcher 2018-20

  • Adam Sharp

    Postdoctoral Researcher 2019-20

Collaborators

  • Matthew-Luskin.jpg

    Matthew Luskin

    University of Queensland

  • fullsizeoutput_37bf.jpeg

    Brett Scheffers

    University of Florida

  • Ding-Li-Yong_edited.jpg

    Ding Li Yong

    BirdLife International

  • David-Wilcove_edited.jpg

    David Wilcove

    Princeton University

  • Michelle-Lute_edited.jpg

    Michelle Lute

    Texas State University

  • Pavel Ktitorov

    Institute of Biological Problems of the North, Russian Academy of Sciences

  • Alex-Hofford.png

    Alex Hofford

    WildAid Hong Kong

© 2020 by Gibson Lab